Home         Communion Arts Journal          Blog        


(For up-to-date information, please visit the Tasmanian Poetry Festival's website).

The Tasmanian Poetry Festival, an annual event held in Launceston each October, was founded and for seventeen years directed by  Tim Thorne, from 1985.

From 2003 to 2018,  Cameron Hindrum directed the festival until, in turn, he passed the baton over to Evie Wood who took charge in 2019.

Because of covid19 restrictions, the 2020 festival has been rescheduled to take place in 2021.

2019 Guest Poets: Rees Campbell, Ross Donlon, Tug Dumbly, Carol Easton, Pola Fanous, Marie McMillan, Gina Mercer, Gregory North, Solli Raphael and Chrys Salt,

2018 Guest Poets: Michael Aiken, Marilyn Arnold, Amy Bodossian, Arielle Cottingham, Quinn Eades, Nicola Easthope, Helga Jermy, Gabrielle Journey Jones and Jesse oliver.

2017 Guest Poets: Pete Hay, Amelia Walker, Mala Anthony, Arjun von Caemmerer, David McCooey, Talya Rubin, Sam Wagan Watson, Izzy Roberts-Orr and Kristen Lang

References to previous Tasmanian Poetry Festivals - culled mainly from back issues of  'famous reporter' - can be found below:

Guests in 2013 included Michael Sharkey, Aidan Coleman,  Anne Kellas, Darkwing Dubs, Lisa Jacobson, Sandy HolmesAndy White, Eleanor Jackson &  Doubting Thomas - and featured the 'Ted & Sylvia' multimedia performance. The festival ran from Friday 4th to Sunday 6th October, 2013.

The 2012 Tasmanian Poetry Festival ran from Friday 5th to Sunday 7th October, with guests Dael Allison, Omar Musa, Richard Tipping, Chris Mansell, Mandy Beaumont, Candy Royalle, Roberta Lowing, Matt Hetherington, Janet Jackson ['Jackson') and Alex Skovron. Tasmanian Poetry Festival 2012 - images

Tasmanian Poetry Festival 2010

Saturday evening: 2009 Tasmanian Poetry Festival (Launceston Poetry Cup)

Section of a March 2008 interview  with Tasmanian Poetry Festival director Cameron Hindrum, dealing with the running of the festival.

Notes -  2008 Tasmanian Poetry Festival

Notes -  2007 Tasmanian Poetry Festival

Notes - 2006 Tasmanian Poetry Festival

Notes - 2005 Tasmanian Poetry Festival

Notes - 1995 Tasmanian Poetry Festival

Tim Thorne: 1994 Tasmanian Poetry Festival